August 28, 2019 2 min read

Hastings & St. Leonards Laser Open

Winds were force 2 to 3 from the east for the Hastings & St Leonards Sailing Club Laser Open, which was also part of the South Easter Laser Grand Prix. Eleven boats entered the competition although only nine were ready for the first of the four races.

Hugh Ashford, from the home club, was quick off the start line and first to the windward mark with Rupert Smith from Newhaven & Seaford SC on his tail. Ashford keep ahead until touching a mark and then Smith’s boat, leading to penalty turns that allowed Smith through and on to win.

In the second race a late arrival, Roger O’Golman from Queen Mary’s SC, joined the fleet and set the standard. O'Golman led form the start and was never seriously challenged. Racing was close in the chasing pack with second place going to the senior sailor on the course, Roy Sandford, who slipped it into the Great Grand Master category.

After a break for lunch, the pattern was resumed with O’Golman clear at the front and the rest of the fleet fighting for clean air and jostling each other around the triangle / sausage course.  The club’s commodore, Andy Francis, took second.

The final race saw O’Golman delivering another lesson in exemplary light airs sailing. Rupert Smith fought hard to keep up with him but was outclassed and settled for second.

With one discard allowed, O’Golman won the competition without worrying about missing the first race. Smith was second and Melanie Clark from the home club was third. For those hoping for stronger winds and the chance to surf the waves it was not to be, but racing was close and the competition fierce for everyone sailing in O’Golman’s wake.


Sailed: 4, Discards: 1, To count: 3, Rating system: PY, Entries: 11, Scoring system: Appendix A

Rank Fleet Class SailNo HelmName CrewName PY R1 R2 R3 R4 Total Nett
1st Laser Handicap Laser 209122 Roger O'Golman   1099 (12.0 DNC) 1.0 1.0 1.0 15.0 3.0
2nd Laser Handicap Laser 156339 Rupert Smith   1099 1.0 (4.0) 4.0 2.0 11.0 7.0
3rd Laser Handicap Laser 180470 Melanie Clark   1099 3.0 3.0 (5.0) 3.0 14.0 9.0
4th Laser Handicap Laser 211347 Hugh Ashford   1099 2.0 (5.0) 3.0 5.0 15.0 10.0
5th Laser Handicap Laser 211346 Roy Sandford   1099 4.0 2.0 (6.0) 4.0 16.0 10.0
6th Laser Handicap Laser 177923 Andy Francis   1099 6.0 6.0 2.0 (12.0 DNC) 26.0 14.0
7th Laser Handicap Laser Radial 72341 Thomas Harland-Smith   1145 5.0 7.0 (10.0) 7.0 29.0 19.0
8th Laser Handicap Laser 166340 Said Toubi   1099 (12.0 DNC) 9.0 7.0 6.0 34.0 22.0
9th Laser Handicap Laser 182979 Michael Mulkerrin   1099 (10.0 DSQ) 8.0 8.0 8.0 34.0 24.0
10th Laser Handicap Laser 186160 Eric Peterson   1099 7.0 (11.0) 9.0 9.0 36.0 25.0
11th Laser Handicap Laser 185961 Steve Eccles   1099 8.0 10.0 (11.0) 10.0 39.0 28.0


Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.

Also in Events

Digital Sailing on Virtual Regatta
Sailing Chandlery Digital Sailing This Weekend

May 08, 2020 1 min read

Read More
Sailing Chandlery Top Class Award - 1st Place Laser Class
Selden SailJuice Winter Series and Sailing Chandlery Top Class

March 20, 2020 1 min read

Read More
2020 RYA Dinghy Show - Alexandra Palace, London
10 Reasons to Visit Sailing Chandlery at the 2020 RYA Dinghy Show

February 10, 2020 3 min read

Read More